Image Creation and Editing Introduction

This post is the introduction to a larger topic on photo editing.  I will be talking briefly about my preferred tools for working with photos and where to find them.  I will be posting many short how to pieces on doing particular tasks using a photo editor in the future.  For my first tutorials, I will be focusing on using an editor for specific tasks, for example, brightening a photo, removing a bad spot, or fixing the color.

My prefer using open source software over commercial versions for demonstrations.  It is easy to find and widely available.  For my photo tutorials, I will be using GIMP which is an open source version of Photoshop.  You can download it here.  It is my favorite software for working with bitmap images.  For working with vector graphics I prefer Inkscape, which is an open source version of Adobe Illustrator.  You can download it at this link.  For my discussion on what vector graphics are, and how they differ from bitmaps, please click on this link.

For my photo editing tutorials, I am including an image for you to manipulate.  You may download the image and follow along on your own computer.

I hope you enjoy my tutorials!

Leave a comment